Cognitive Liberators

undefined
Hip, Hip, Hurrah! by Peder Severin Krøyer, (1888)

“Technology has come to a point where it is no longer useful for humanity.

It is actually the opposite.”

- Phone technician who just hooked up services for us

We recently had phone and internet service installed by a new provider. Always up for conversation, I asked the technician whether he used this company’s service as well.

“No”, he answered.

“Oh, do you use a different one?”

Another, “No.”

Now I was getting a bit confused, “You mean you don’t use any service at all, no tv, no phone, no internet?”

“No, I don’t even have a cell phone.”

I was floored to have come across an internet service technician who is a certified luddite. As we continued talking I learned that, having grown up in a traditional Mennonite community, he understood what it means to be close to community and close to the land. Although he went on to lead a modern life, and even became a sound technician for famous musicians, he has thrown off the shackles of digital technology completely. He admitted it is challenging, but he has made a deliberate choice two years ago to cut off all tech use.

He uses the library across from where he lives if he needs to send an e-mail to arrange appointments. There he also borrows books to read. His family and friends are local, and he stays in touch with them in person. He commented, “you can either try and keep up with technology - which you never will - or actually focus on doing work.” He has decided to stay in the human, physical realm. He is hopeful that many more people will begin to recognize how tech distraction is undoing us as humans.

I found the conversation I had with this technician inspiring. He was a living manifestation of the concept of “digital minimalism”, not just pages in a book giving advice. He was actually living the advice, and so became a much more powerful, embodied example of a device-free life. While we may at some level admire the technician’s antediluvian lifestyle choice, few of us can imagine following in his footsteps. Indeed, most of us seem to be living as emergent, if reluctant, cyborgs. In Elon Musk’s words:

The thing that people, I think, don’t appreciate right now is that they are already a cyborg...If you leave your phone behind, it’s like missing limb syndrome. I think people—they’re already kind of merged with their phone and their laptop and their applications and everything.

While I recognize the undeniable seed of truth in this statement, the notion produces a deep-seated revulsion in me. And it evokes a surge of rebellion against the underlying assumption that we will simply need to accept this cyborg-like state as our new reality. I wholeheartedly reject this faux reality and reiterate the urgency to cut our ties with the digital demons that beset us.

In my post From Feeding Moloch to Digital Minimalism I discussed the undeniable and harmful effects of digital device use, especially on our children. Our unmitigated digital addictions are not only harmful on an individual level, but they are breaking down the fabric of our families.

Consider the following:

The list could go on and you can find additional research on Ledger of Harms by Tristan Harris’ Centre of Humane Technology and

’s substack After Babel.

If this list were referring to harms caused by hard drugs or alcohol, we would not blink in affirming that drastic changes are needed now. So why are we willing to remain complacent when the harms are caused by digital addiction? It seems we are caught in collective denial, a clear indication that we are suffering from a mass addiction syndrome.

Share

When we scratch at the surface, people are quick to admit that they wished that they could just ditch their phones, or that they would love nothing more than to smash their teenager’s phone. Many of us have ideas about what we could do differently, sometimes even very concrete ones. In a recent exchange on Notes,

commented,

It would be so easy to designate e.g. a drawer in an end-table and make an individual or family policy: the phone stays there, and you go there to use the phone (and use it nowhere else in the house). You might put a chair by it and imagine that you’ll go, say, every X interval. That I’ve thought about doing this for years and never have, even once, tells the entire story, though. It would be easy; it would work; some part of me obviously does not want it.

You are likely familiar with the biblical quote, “The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak.” What chance do we stand if both the spirit and the flesh are weak?

In order to have a fighting chance against the onslaught of the mind and soul-destroying Machine, we need to strengthen our spirit, mind, and heart not only by shifting our phones from our pockets to a box (or a bin), we are in need of a tectonic shift in how we live our daily lives.

In her recent Front Porch Republic article, Joining the Dance: Setting Aside Screens to Build the City

1relates an example of a community of families who has committed to such a shift:

“In fact, every family at the dance was there because each had decided to be weird. That is, they’d decided being human was worth stepping away from the dominant technological trends of our society, and that their kids were worth swimming upstream for. Each family had recognized that decisions regarding how to raise our kids, like whether we let them have smartphones, were not neutral. Neither were they merely personal or familial. Rather, such choices reflected our view of how the world ought to be, of what a human being is—and those choices would affect everyone around us.”

My husband

and I have been discussing the encroaching onslaught of tech for many years, ever since our children were little and social media was in its infancy. We wondered what did it mean to be human in an increasingly technological world? How could we help them stay on the right path? Quoting from ‘s post A Pilgrim’s Creed,

“In the end, our answers were home-baked, kitchen-table solutions, or hatched in discussions on the living room couch, in the night hours when the children were asleep. Amid our ramblings, some of which were scrawled on paper, was the idea of a creed: a brief, plain-language summary on how to maintain a Machine-resistant mentality.

The creed serves as a compass to those who recognize that the relentless intrusion of digital tech in our lives is ever more eagerly eroding what makes us human. While it is written from a Christian perspective, readers from different backgrounds will find resonance with the need to define where humanity needs to draw the line,… in order to anchor us to our core meanings in life and situate technology’s proper place in the order of things."

We cannot put food on the table for our families through words, but but must have action behind our words to provide nourishment. In the same way we cannot simply think about changing our digital dependency, but must start enacting a fundamental change in our relationship to technology. While books on digital detox or digital minimalism can provide the necessary starting points, they seem to miss the bigger picture. Tinkering with habits is grounded in psychological tactics that inherently step back from values judgements. This is what often leads to changes that blow away into dust.

Going forward, my writings on School of the Unconformed will focus on how we can bring about lasting change by building different life foundations that support this tectonic shift. The writings will offer support and practical guidance in strengthening the home and hearth, growing different daily rhythms and habits, parenting, taking charge of education, and embracing what Wendell Berry calls the Good Life.2This bottom-up approach provides the life-blood for change that results not from shifting mind furniture, but from arranging solid cornerstones that shape everything we do.

The train to remaining fully human is leaving the station. The tickets are free, there’s lots of space. I am getting on.

En lille barbenet Fiskerpige siddende ved...
Peder Severin Krøyer

Cognitive Liberators of Substack

Several writers on substack have been relating their experience of quitting (or trying to quit) social media and other digital addictions. Just as the conversation with the luddite technician inspired me, you may find encouragement, resonance, and the needed straw on the camel’s back in these real-life parables. Stories can often deliver a better punch than a list of reasons to make this your moment to ditch your digital dependency and commit to cognitive liberty.

Note: This page is meant to serve as an ongoing resource, thus if you know of a post that could be added to this list, let me know.

So, friends, every day do something
that won’t compute.

Wendell Berry

School of the Unconformed
Reawakening to the Freedom of Limits
“Art consists of limitation. The most beautiful part of every picture is the frame.” “Art, like morality, consists of drawing the line somewhere.” G.K. Chesterton Waiting at London Gatwick for my connecting flight to Basel, I look at the row of people across from me. There are ten; seven have their phones …
Read more
The Commonplace
Leaving Instagram: One Year Later 🧐
It’s been a year since I stopped using Instagram with any regularity, and almost a year since I told the general public about it and made it official. I’ve been asked with frequent regularity how it’s been sans Instagram, along with a few practical questions regarding the how-to of leaving the ‘gram, so I thought it time for a wee update…
Read more
The Coffee Shop
On Catching Fireflies and Social Media
This weekend, I went to visit my Mom in my hometown, and on the way down in the car, I deleted my Facebook and Instagram apps. I have been struggling in the past few weeks with how and how much I should use social media. These apps create a compulsion within me to share and record even the most mundane moments of my life. This desire to share on social …
Read more
Writing While Washing
Is Instagram the narcissist?
On a whim, though not without thought, I decided to join a few other folks in abstaining from social media for the month of January. The timing was good after a month of scrolling while snuggling sick kids. When the jingles from reels start playing unbidden in my head I know I’ve crossed an unhealthy line…
Read more
Practicing Resurrection
a nurturing life
This tech detox is kicking my butt. I didn’t realize how addicted I was to social media until I deleted it from my phone and realized how restless that made me. I must admit, I’ve fallen away a few times, finding myself scrolling or mindlessly watching things. Each time, however, I’ve pulled myself back on track…
Read more
Born of Wonder
Why I deleted my social media
I did it. It took me almost an hour to figure out how to do it (Meta sure doesn’t make it easy to divorce yourself from its dystopian maze), but I did it. I deactivated my personal Facebook and my personal Instagram account. I also put an ‘away message’ on Born of Wonder’s Instagram and have no plans to sign back in…
Read more
The Hollow / Dixie Dillon Lane, Ph.D.
Can You Really "Just" Unplug?
Welcome to the Hollow! Please subscribe for free to support us by joining in on our conversations, or subscribe at a paid level to do this and help keep us in new pens and dark chocolate…
Read more
Firelight
Why I Quit Social Media for Good
I shut down my public Instagram account a few weeks ago. I’ve taken lengthy breaks from social media before, but I’ve never quit social media forever and ever, amen. I’ve been dissatisfied with social media for many years, but I kept coming back because the conventional wisdom is that, as a writer, I need social media to grow my readership. As such, I’v…
Read more
Seeking the Narrow
Digital Detox Results: Needs Improvement
Near the end of 2022 I began the crawl of distancing myself from social media. After deleting Facebook and Instagram from my phone, a day or so would pass and I would give into some excuse to return to the app store only to rinse and repeat. Praise God for Lent. When the Lenten season began I decided I was going to put the news behind me. …
Read more
The Endeavor
Week 1- PLAY!
Hello and welcome to the first weekly reflection of my journey towards digital minimalism. Each week I will share my thoughts and experiences based on the time I spend each week away from digital technology. Here is how my detox schedule works at the moment. Every afternoon or evening when I get home from work, my phone goes in a specified spot and I to…
Read more
Commercial Flights to Inner Space
Digital Detox Journal #1
Inspired in part by my friend Nick Hadsell and the excellent digital-skeptic (or even digital-apocalyptic) Substacks School of the Unconformed and Paul Kingsnorth , I am attempting a 30-day digital detox (I sort of wish there were a less…yuppie? word than detox, but that’s te…
Read more
What to do when you don’t feel great!
Digital detox & loving the ordinary
I’ve decided to do a digital detox for the month of May, and then reflect. It’s not possible to disappear off to a retreat somewhere, and so my detox will be to only use digital for work, and check my phone and emails at the beginning and end of the working day. I am on day three and already experiencing the benefits…
Read more
OLD TIME RELIGION
Celebrate Pry Month with Old Time Religion!
Happy Pry Month! It’s that time of year again when we turn off our phones, hot spots, televisions, and news feeds in order to better enjoy life and creation as it is. It’s a wonderful world out there, so go out and celebrate it! For the uninitiated, Pry Month is a little tradition we have every June in my family where we seek to PRY our eyes away from al…
Read more
Enjoying Creation
Digital Detox - A Reflection
A note: This post was supposed to go out last Wednesday! But I haven’t touched my laptop in weeks (thanks to my new digital minimalism habits) and just got around to typing up my thoughts yesterday. I guess I was just too busy reading books to get around to writing…
Read more
The Second Act
We Deleted Instagram for 31 Days. Here's What Happened ...
For the past two years, I’ve been deleting Instagram every other week, as well as every January and August. I don’t say this lightly: this rhythm has changed my life for the better, and I have reaped all kinds of fruit as a reward (more on that, plus my complicated thoughts on social media…
Read more
mystery and manners: occasional prose
The Digital Exodus
When I announced my decision to leave Instagram, I got more than a few questions as to why–mostly from people who have considered leaving themselves. Truth be told, it had been a question on my mind for some time and I always found a reason to stay…
Read more
Roses, 1893
Roses by Peder Severin Krøyer, 1893
Stay Grounded
The AIR method: Learn to see your phone as a tool, not entertainment. A step-by-step guide.
Update: The AIR Method now has it’s own direct URL, airmethod.net for easy remembering/sharing! “You can try having self-control, but there are a thousand engineers on the other side of the screen wor…
Read more
Radicalis
Slow down: 13 small changes to start living an analog life
The term “analog life” is a modern, rebellious phenomenon, reminiscent of the unhurried, steady tick of a wall clock. It’s a lifestyle that gives the middle finger to a 24/7 hustle culture, emphasizing slower, simpler, and unplugged living. And yes, it’s radical…
Read more
Moving Offline
From Pixel to Person: A Journey into a Smartphone-Free Identity
Book update: Because of your support, Low Tech Life has now sold 200 copies! Thank you for sharing, reviewing, and recommending my book to friends and family …
Read more
Dachi
How to shape your environment to reduce external triggers
Physical Environment Charge your phone away from your bed: By charging your phone away from your bed, you discourage late-night scrolling and checking social media before sleep, thus helping you to reduce screen time and improve sleep quality. Use a physical alarm clock…
Read more
Moving Offline
The Wisdom in Simplicity: Unveiling the Value of Dumbphones
Introduction Life, akin to a bustling marketplace, is a grand stage where we perpetually evaluate the "worth" of our decisions. Picture a pair of sturdy shoes with an initially steep price, or the patient wait for the holiday season to “seize a deal.” For some, worth is a matter of simple mathematics—a straightforward balance between cost and utility. Bu…
Read more
Moon light at Skagen beach by Peder Severin Krøyer on artnet
Moon light at Skagen beach by Peder Severin Krøyer, 1909

A Note to readers: As part of my tectonic shift I will cut my last social media tie - Substack Notes. I will use it solely to restack my articles when they are published, but will no longer interact in any way. All my notifications are off and I will thus not respond to any questions or comments on Notes. I will still respond to comments, if possible, on my actual posts.

If you found this post helpful (or hopeful), consider supporting my work by becoming a paid subscriber, or simply show your appreciation with a ‘like’ or ‘share”.

Share


1

Tessa Carman interviewed

for Mere Orthodoxy. If you have not yet read it, you can find it here: https://mereorthodoxy.com/following-christ-in-the-machine-age-a-conversation-with-paul-kingsnorth. One reader commented that this is the most detailed interview with Kingsnorth he has ever come across. Worth your time.

2

“Wendell Berry’s formula for a good life and a good community is simple and pleasingly unoriginal. Slow down. Pay attention. Do good work. Love your neighbours. Love your place. Stay in your place. Settle for less, enjoy it more.”